We are delighted to announce the ABB LEAF Awards 2020/21 Lifetime Achievement Winner as Ms Francine Houben from Mecanoo.

Lifetime Achievement Winner 2020/2021

Francine Houben (the Netherlands, 1955) is Founding Partner and Creative Director of Mecanoo architecten. Her work ranges from theatres, museums and libraries to neighbourhoods, housing and parks. Each design is founded on observation of people, location, culture and climate. This analysis amounts to designs that respond to current needs, yet are also prepared for (un)predictable change.

With her practice, she has gained international acclaim. She holds Honorary Fellowships of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) was granted lifelong membership to the Akademie der Künste in Berlin. In 2015, Queen Máxima of the Netherlands presented her the prestigious Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds Prize for her entire oeuvre.

Francine Houben was professor of mobility aesthetics at Delft University of Technology and also taught at the universities of Harvard and Yale. As curator of the First International Architecture Biennale Rotterdam, she brought the theme of the aesthetics of mobility to the forefront of international design consciousness. She holds Honorary Doctorates from Utrecht University and Université de Mons.

Selected works include Delft University of Technology Library, Delft (1997), La Llotja Theatre and Congress Centre, Lleida, Spain (2008), Library of Birmingham, United Kingdom (2013), Bruce C. Bolling Municipal Building, Boston, United States (2015) and National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts, Taiwan (opened in 2018). Currently, she is finalizing the renovation of the New York Public Library and the central library of Washington, DC – designed by Mies van der Rohe which both re-opened in 2020.



Lifetime Achievement Winner 2019

Diller Scofidio + Renfro

Diller Scofidio + Renfro has been honoured with the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The accolade recognises an individual  or architectural practice that has made outstanding and lasting contributions to international architecture, transforming the way we discuss and process our built environment.

Founded in 1981, Diller Scofidio + Renfro is today led by Elizabeth Diller, Ricardo Scofidio, Charles Renfro and Benjamin Gilmartin. With a focus on cultural and civic projects their work addresses the changing role of institutions and the future of cities. Projects have included the design of the High Line-the adaptive reuse of an obsolete, industrial rail infrastructure into a 1.5 mile-long public park; the transformation of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts’ half-century-old campus; and the 35-acre Zaryadye Park adjacent to the Kremlin in Moscow. Diller Scofidio + Renfro are currently leading two cultural works significant to New York: The Shed-the first multi-arts center designed to commission, produce, and present all types of performing arts, visual arts, and popular culture - and the expansion of the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). Most recently Diller Scofidio + Renfro have been selected to design the Centre for Music, a permanent home for the London Symphony Orchestra and a new Collection and Research Centre for the V&A in London’s Olympic Park.

Last year's recipient was renowned architect Sir David Chipperfield, with previous winners including Sir Peter Cook, Santiago Calatrava, Daniel Libeskind , Moshe Safdie and many more.

For further information on Diller Scofidio + Renfro please contact: press@dsrny.comwww.dsrny.com